Sex Offender Registration
For children who have been convicted of a sex offense, keeping up with various registration requirements can often be challenging. Texas law requires offenders to report to different local authorities based on whether they live inside or outside city limits. Some offenses require lifetime registration, while others do not. Paul Stuckle has been a lawyer for young people charged with juvenile sex offenses in the Dallas region for over 25 years. He zealously advocates for the rights of children, no matter the phase of the case. Mr. Stuckle is knowledgeable in advising clients on post-sentencing matters, such as sex offender registration.Registration for Sex Offenders in Texas
Many minors in Texas who are convicted of a reportable sex offense must register as a sex offender. Chapter 62 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure provides a comprehensive list of crimes considered to be “reportable sex offenses.” This list includes offenses such as aggravated sexual assault (Texas Penal Code 22.021), sexual performance by a child (Texas Penal Code 43.25), possession or promotion of child pornography (Texas Penal Code 43.26), and continuous sexual abuse of a young child or children (Texas Penal Code 21.02).
To register with the Sex Offender Registry, individuals must report to the specified local law enforcement office, which is usually a police department or sheriff’s office, of the city in which they reside. If an individual does not live within city limits, that person must report to the designated law enforcement office in the county in which he or she lives. This office will likely be a police or sheriff’s department as well. A person must register within seven days of moving into the city or county, or on the first day that law enforcement permits registration, whichever is later.
Individuals registering must provide their basic identifying and contact information, such as their name, date of birth, height, eye and hair color, race, social security number, address, and phone numbers. Registrants must also provide a recent picture of themselves and be fingerprinted. Individuals registering must disclose the crime of which they were convicted and any other pertinent sentencing information, including whether they are on probation or parole. Registrants must relay their plans for work or education and any other information that law enforcement may deem necessary.
Most minors who are required to register must do so until the 10th anniversary of their final disposition (or sentencing) hearing, or 10 years after they complete the terms of their disposition, whichever date is later. Furthermore, juvenile sex offenders who must register because their case was transferred to the adult system must register until 10 years after the date on which they were discharged from state supervision through probation or parole, or 10 years from the date that they completed the terms of the disposition, whichever is later. Children may also have the option of registering on a private registry that is not available to the public and my only be viewed by government and education officials.
If a person convicted of a sex crime does not reside in Texas, but works or attends school within the state, the individual will still be required to report to law enforcement and be placed on the registry.Contact a Dedicated Lawyer to Fight Juvenile Charges in Plano
With a long track record of assisting many children accused of sex offenses, criminal defense attorney Paul Stuckle can help young people in Plano and elsewhere in Texas assert their rights. Stuckle & Associates, PLLC proudly serves clients throughout cities in Collin, Denton, Tarrant, and Dallas Counties, including Fort Worth, McKinney, and Arlington. Call us at (972) 423-4405 or fill out our contact form to schedule a free consultation.